Parenting · Recipes

Baby Food: Carrot, Apple & Quinoa

Carrot, Apple and Quinoa
This Carrot, Apple & Quinoa baby food will mix a little protein with some tasty fruits and veggies.

I’ve never been able to stomach buying baby food meat in a jar. I just can’t. So with both my girls, that meant trying to find protein in other sources. Both babies ate lots and lots of soups and stews that I could grind up for them. But I also looked to beans, eggs and even quinoa for a protein boost.

I made a bit too much quinoa for a recent dinner, so I started experimenting with different recipes and found one my girl is really liking.

I found that each of my girls had a no-fail fruit as babies that they’d eat anything with. For my oldest it was bananas or apricots. For my youngest, it’s apples or mangos. So I knew if I was going to get quinoa into a new blend, it needed to be with apples. And I snuck in some carrots for good measure.

If you’re following along with my blog, you’ll notice a trend in orange mashes lately. That’s because the baby loves the yellow/orange veggies but turns her nose up at anything green. The minute she senses the green stuff coming near her lips, I get splattered. So, let’s just say the perfect green baby food blend is still in, umm, R&D at the moment.

In the meantime, try this vegetarian blend at home and let me know in the comments section how your baby liked it.

Carrot, Apple & Quinoa

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup cooked quinoa
  • Up to 1 cup cooking water
  • 1/8 teaspoon ginger
  • 4 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 2 apples, peeled, cored and diced

Directions:

Grab your trusty steamer (I love my Ikea one!) and fill the bottom with water.

When the water boils, add your carrots and apples to the steamer.

Carrots and apples
Dice up your carrots and apples before steaming them.

Cook until fork tender, about 6-10 minutes.

carrot and apple
Cook the carrots and apples until they’re fork tender.

Pour the veggies into a blender. Pro tip: Don’t throw out that cooking liquid! You’ll need it to thin down your mixture. Then add in your quinoa.

Add quinoa into your carrot and apple puree
Add your quinoa into your carrot and apple mixture.

Then, try a bit of ginger to flavor the mixture.

ground ginger
I used 1/8 teaspoon ginger, to give a little flavor without overwhelming the baby’s food.

Puree, adding the cooking liquid as you go, until an applesauce consistency is reached.


(Reposting the directions all in one shot, because sometimes it’s easier to follow along that way.)

Directions:

Grab your trusty steamer (I love my Ikea one!) and fill the bottom with water. When the water boils, add your carrots and apples to the steamer. Cook until fork tender, about 6-10 minutes.Pour the veggies into a blender. Pro tip: Don’t throw out that cooking liquid! You’ll need it to thin down your mixture. Then add in your quinoa. Then, try a bit of ginger to flavor the mixture.

Puree, adding the cooking liquid as you go, until an applesauce consistency is reached.

Have a baby food recipe you’re willing to share? I’d love to try it. Share it in the comments section below. Want to save this recipe? Pin it.

 

3 thoughts on “Baby Food: Carrot, Apple & Quinoa

Leave a Reply

