DIY · Recipes

A blizzard calls for homemade cinnamon-sugar doughnuts

Baked Cinnamon-Sugar Doughnuts
These Baked Cinnamon-Sugar Doughnuts are unbelievably good. Like so good, you won’t want to tell your kids you made them, and just eat the entire batch.

Looks like Snowmageddon 2017 has us stuck inside for the day, but my family doesn’t seem to mind. That’s because I’ve got a whole day of recipe testing ahead of me.

First up, homemade cinnamon-sugar doughnuts for a donut-stravaganza that I’m planning (more about that in a future post!). These doughnuts are addicting when they’re still warm. Like melt-in-your-mouth, chain-doughnut-stores-ain’t-got-nothin’-on-me delicious.

Since they’re baked, not fried, I feel like I’m saving some calories — at least until they take a bath in melted butter and get a good coating of cinnamon and sugar sprinkled on top. Three disappeared instantly.

The recipe is straightforward, and easy enough that my 4-year-old and her short attention span were still entertained. I filled the cups 2/3 full and actually got 20 doughnuts, instead of the 12 doughnut yield that the recipe promised. Yum!

Baking Cinnamon-Sugar Doughnuts
My 4-year-old assistant insisted on baking in her “pearls”.

Need a warm, gooey snack today? Try homemade cinnamon-sugar doughnuts.

The recipe is courtesy of Barefoot Contessa.  The only changes I made were to only use 5 Tablespoons of butter (and I had a lot leftover) for the glaze. And instead of dipping the doughnuts in cinnamon-sugar, I just sprinkled it on top.

My doughnut pan is from Wilton. Don’t have a doughnut pan, and aren’t about to get one in this blizzard? No problem. Here’s a clever idea to convert a muffin tin into a makeshift doughnut pan.

One thought on “A blizzard calls for homemade cinnamon-sugar doughnuts

Leave a Reply

