Parenting · Recipes

Give the kids cookies for breakfast

IMG_7661
What will your kids say when you tell them it’s cookies for breakfast?

My baby is not quite a baby anymore. And I know I should be happy about that, that she’s healthy and growing. But I’m kinda in denial.

She’s outgrowing the bottles. She is getting tired of being spoon-fed. And she only wants to eat whatever is in my plate or bowl. And breakfast with her has been a bit tricky.

She’ll turn her nose up at baby oatmeal. But my oatmeal? That hot, steaming bowl of food my morning zombie-without-caffeine-or-contacts-in just made purely on auto pilot for myself? Well, she thinks that looks pretty tasty and she’d like all of it.

She’s hit or miss with scrambled eggs. They’re easy to pick up, but even easier to throw (and she does that quite a bit).

She’ll gobble up toast with a thin layer of peanut butter. (And I really should borrow a total hipster move and see what she thinks of avocado toast.)

But that’s it. Three breakfast options on repeat. Even I’m getting bored. So I started poring through cookbooks for healthy breakfast options the few-toothed could eat.

And I stumbled on breakfast cookies.

You say, “Cookies for breakfast?”

I say, “Why not?”

I looked at a few recipes and ended up making my own. A base of instant oats, ground flaxseed and whole-wheat flour gets a flavor boost from frozen blueberries, cinnamon, vanilla and roasted coconut chips. Molasses gives it the tiniest bit of earthy sweetness.

Think of this breakfast cookie as a portable bowl of oatmeal and fruit. Cookie may be misleading, as it’s not a sweet breakfast. It certainly looks like an oatmeal cookie, but has the airy texture of a muffin top.

And my baby-turned-big-girl is begging for more. She likes that she can hold a small piece in her hand and nibble it. (Though I wind up breaking most into little pieces and leaving on her highchair tray because I am a worrier.)

My older daughter and husband have even been sneaking the cookies for snacks during the day.

I figure it’s healthy and filling, so they can have as many of these cookies as they like.

Like the idea of breakfast cookies, but blueberries aren’t your thing? Tart cranberries, orange rind and ground pecans would add a bright summer flavor. A bit of honey would lend some sweetness. Or add extra coconut chips and replace the blueberries with mini chocolate chips to satisfy your grown-up sweet tooth.

Blueberry-Oat Breakfast Cookies
Blueberry-Oat Breakfast Cookies make an easy grab-and-go breakfast or snack.

Blueberry-Oat Breakfast Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup instant oats
  • 1 Tablespoon ground flaxseed
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 Tablespoon roasted coconut chips (finely ground)
  • 2 Tablespoons melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 Tablespoons molasses
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 3/4 cup frozen blueberries

Directions:

Mix your dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add your vanilla, molasses and milk. Mix well to combine. Add your egg and mix again. Fold in the blueberries.

Cover the bowl with foil and let it chill in the fridge for about an hour. Then line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Scoop out the cookies (I mixed the sizes for a few larger grown-up cookies, and a few baby-sized cookies) onto the cookie sheet.

Bake at 325 for about 10 minutes. If you went with really small cookies, you’ll need to adjust the cooking time and keep a watch on the oven so they don’t burn. Enjoy!

Have another toddler breakfast food that works for your kid? I’d love to hear it. Share it in the comments section below.

Like this? Hit that big gray Follow button on the side of the page so you’ll never miss a post. And be sure to follow me on Twitter @GrowingSprouts2. And if you wanted to share this with a friend, or 20, that’d be okay too.

Leave a Reply

